About Us

(Password Required)


Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 5301
Jackson MS 39296

Contact Us:



August 25, 1949, marked the founding of the Mississippi Genealogical Society � one that has grown from five organizing members to its present size. Meeting in the home of Mrs. William G. Roberds in Jackson were Miss Mary Berry, Mrs. L.C. Franklin, Mrs. Thomas D. Hendrix, Mrs. Edward L. Trenholm and Mrs. Roberds, who was elected president of the group. In a year�s time five more members were added: Mrs. Herbert D. Forrest, Mrs. Julius Melton, Mrs. Adlia Morgan (and later Mrs. Murray D. Stringer, Mrs. F.E. Rehfeldt and Mrs. J. W. Wilkerson.)

Gov. Hugh L. White and the Secretary of State, Heber Ladner approved a Charter of Incorporation for the Mississippi Genealogical Society on January 10, 1955. As stated in this charter the purpose of the Society was �the acquisition of Knowledge of Mississippi State history; the promotion and preservation of old records in the county courthouses and in private family records and collections; and to encourage interest in research and genealogy.�

On August 6, 1984, the Secretary of State, Dick Molpus, issued a Certificate confirming the Society�s non profit status; that the Mississippi Genealogical Society is �duly qualified and in good standing to do business in Mississippi.�

The growth of the Society was, by plan, slow and limited to those who had a genuine and sustained interest in genealogy- those who where more professional than amateur. The Society was not organized as a teaching group. Prospects were expected to know the basics of genealogy when they became members. All were expected to assist in finding and preserving Mississippi records.

In 1991 the Board of Management approved a logo and authorized it to be reproduced as a recognition pin for the Society�s membership. Its symbolism is representative of Mississippi�s heritage. Within the outline made of the State is a Magnolia tree depecting both the Official Tree of Mississippi and a �family tree.�

Other symbols represent the governments of France, Spain and Great Britain (including Scotland and Ireland), who left their mark on Mississippi History. Colors of the pin are those of the USA and Mississippi flags � red, white and blue � with accents of gold.




  • President – Tricia Nelson
  • Vice President – Erin Feathers
  • Recording Secretary – Ree Curtis
  • Corresponding Secretary – Nancy Durham
  • Treasurer – Anna Royston
  • Historian – Beverly Herring
  • Parliamentarian – Pat Ellis
About Us